Games And Simulations In Construction Engineering

Architectural and civil engineers are using rich digital tools to simulate constructed buildings Similar tools are also being used in digital video games and virtual reality games that might teach future engineers Dr Fadi Castronovo speaks about his efforts to advance engineering education using simulations and games like these Fadi is an engineering professor at California State University East Bay or Cal State East Bay an architectural engineer by training and an educational game designer He also talks about his students game to teach sustainability practices his favorite video games and his background across the world Related to this episode Dr Fadi Castronovo https www fadicastronovo com Download some of Fadi s educational games https www fadicastronovo com research-groups stem-educational-gaming-research-group Cal State East Bay engineering http www csueastbay edu engineering Cooper-Union engineering https cooper edu engineering Penn State University engineering https www engr psu edu Dr John Messner https news psu edu expert john-messner Dr Messner s lab https www pennstatecic org people html Virtual Construction Simulator VCS https www pennstatecic org vcs html SimCity video game series https www ea com games simcity Rollercoaster Tycoon video game http www rollercoastertycoon com Think aloud methods for usability testing https en wikipedia org wiki Think aloud protocol Experiential learning https en wikipedia org wiki Experiential learning Attack of the Recyclops game background https peer asee org board-63-development-of-a-virtual-reality-educational-game-for-waste-management-attack-of-the-recyclops Sketchup 3D modeling software https www sketchup com Unity game development engine https unity3d com Oculus Rift virtual reality platform https www oculus com rift HTC Vive https www vive com us product vive-virtual-reality-system City of Austin composting program https austintexas gov austincomposts City of Austin game development incentives http www austintexas gov department film-digital-media-production-incentives Auti-Sim Autism simulator game http www gamesforchange org game auti-sim Civilization video game https civilization com Magic Leap company with augmented reality technology https www magicleap com Dr Steve Ayer Arizona State University https ssebe engineering asu edu 2018 08 steven-ayer Our closing music is Yes And by Steve Combs used under a Creative Commons Attribution License https creativecommons org licenses by 4 0 Subscribe and find more podcast information at http www k12engineering net Support Pios Labs with regular donations on Patreon https www patreon com pioslabs or send one-time contributions by buying us coffee https ko-fi com pioslabs Thanks to our donors and listeners for making the show possible The K12 Engineering Education Podcast is a production of Pios Labs http www pioslabs com Click here to visit this podcast episode